# Paternity Establishment Frequently Asked Questions

#### **PATERNITY ESTABLISHMENT:**

**Question:** What is "paternity establishment"?

**Answer:** "Legally" identifying the father of a child. **Question:** How is paternity "legally" established?

**Answer:** Establishing paternity for a child in Georgia may be done in one of the

following ways:

1. The child's parents are legally married to each other at the time of the child's birth;

2. Unwed parents sign a Paternity Acknowledgment Form

2.1. At the hospital when the child is born, or later at either

2.2. The State Office of Vital Records in Atlanta or

2.3. The Vital Records Office in the county where the child was born; NOTE: In some counties, the Paternity Acknowledgment Forms are processed at the Probate Court Office rather than the Vital Records Office.

2.4. Effective July 1, 2008, parents may complete the PA form anywhere as long as their signatures are signed by a Notary Public. It is then the responsibility of the parents to submit the original PA document to the State Office of Vital Records for filing.

3. Court order, (divorce decree, separation agreement, or other judicial or administrative order).

**Question:** The mother of the child is married; however, the biological father of the

child is not her husband. How can they prove the biological father is the

legal father?

**Answer:** Georgia law presumes the husband to be the biological father of the child.

For legal advice regarding this issue, please contact an attorney.

**Question:** The mother of my child is deceased, and paternity has not been

established. How can I establish paternity for my child?

**Answer:** Paternity testing labs typically offer "motherless" parentage testing. You

should discuss this option with the laboratory.

### **PATERNITY TESTING**

**Question:** Who do I contact to arrange for DNA testing to be sure I'm the child's

father?

**Answer:** If you have a case with the Division of Child Support Services (DCSS) in

Georgia, contact an agent to discuss parentage testing.

If you have a case with a child support office in a state other than Georgia,

contact that office to discuss parentage testing.

If you do not have a case with child support and want to arrange for independent testing, there are several labs and clinics that perform parentage testing. You may search telephone listings or search for labs on the Internet. When deciding which lab to use, you should review the laboratory's credentials to ensure that it is accredited by the American Association of Blood Banks (AABB).

Question: Answer:

What is the cost of a paternity test to determine parentage? There is no cost to you for establishing paternity through the DCSS except for the application for services fee and the cost of paternity testing (if the test results indicate the alleged father is the biological parent of the child). Currently, the cost for paternity testing is **\$29.65** per person. For mother, father, and child, the total cost of paternity testing through DCSS is **\$88.95**.

Question: Answer:

What happens after I receive the results of the paternity test? If a court case has been initiated and is pending the results of the test... Your legal representative or DCSS will proceed with the court case in one of the following ways:

- 1. If the test results show you are not the biological father of the child... A court order will be presented to the court asking for dismissal of the court case because paternity testing has excluded you as the father.
- 2. If the test results show you cannot be excluded as the biological father of the child...

You will be contacted and given the opportunity to sign a consent court order establishing paternity and resolving other issues that may have been included in the petition to establish the court case.

You will be notified of the time and place for a court hearing to resolve the issues included in the petition to establish the court case.

3. If no court case is pending....

If you, the mother and the child voluntarily had paternity testing, and no other party(ies) are involved, any resulting action is your decision. You may petition the Superior Court to establish paternity and/or legitimate the child based on the parentage testing, or you may decide not to pursue a court order.

OR

You may decide to voluntarily acknowledge paternity and legitimate the child by signing a Paternity Acknowledgment Form. (See section in this handout on voluntarily establishing paternity by completing a "PA" form, immediately following this section.)

**Note:** Parents of a child born out of wedlock may sign a PA form to establish paternity for their child at any time – there is no time limit.

# VOLUNTARILY ESTABLISHING PATERNITY BY COMPLETING A "PATERNITY ACKNOWLEDGMENT (PA) FORM"

**Question:** Is Voluntary Paternity Establishment legal?

**Answer:** "... When both the mother and father have signed a voluntary

acknowledgment of paternity and the acknowledgment is recorded in the putative father registry established ... the acknowledgment shall constitute

a legal determination of paternity [O.C.G.A. §19-7-46.1(b)].

**Question:** Where can I obtain a Paternity Acknowledgment form?

**Answer:** Paternity Acknowledgment forms are provided in birthing hospitals at the

time of a child's birth to unmarried parents. After leaving the hospital, both parents may go together to one of the following locations to complete the Paternity Acknowledgment form: (1) State Office of Vital Records in

Atlanta; (2) County Vital Records office or the Probate Court.

Question: How do I locate a local Vital Records Office?

**Answer:** Press the "Ctrl" button on your computer keyboard and click on the link

above or go to <a href="http://vitalrec.com/ga.html#County">http://vitalrec.com/ga.html#County</a>.

Question: Is it legal for a minor parent (in Georgia, under the age of 18) to sign the

PA form without parental consent?

**Answer:** It is legal for a minor parent to sign the PA form without parental consent.

**Question:** What does signing a Paternity Acknowledgment (PA) form mean?

**Answer:** The PA form must be completed and signed by both parents to establish paternity for the child and to name the child. Each parent's signature must be witnessed by someone who signs and dates the form

as a legal witness.

If the parents complete the form outside of a hospital or vital records office, both their signatures must be witnessed by a Notary Public, and the

Notary Public seal must be affixed to the document.

**Note:** Parents of a child born out of wedlock may sign a PA form to establish paternity for their child at any time – there is no time limit.

**Question:** What does it mean to "legitimate" my child?

**Answer:** The meaning of "legitimation" varies from state to state depending on the

state's individual "legitimation" laws.

In Georgia, a child cannot inherit or receive certain benefits from the father

if he is not "legitimate."

Additionally, a father cannot petition a court for custody and visitation rights unless the child has been "legitimated." A father CAN include all three issues (legitimation, custody and visitation) in the same court petition. However, a father cannot petition a court for only custody and

visitation rights if the child is not legitimate.

**Question:** How can I get a copy of the signed Paternity Acknowledgment form?

Answer: The facility that processes your signed Paternity Acknowledgment form

(birthing hospital, local Vital Records Office, County Probate Court, or State Office of Vital Records) usually provides each parent with a copy of

the signed document. However, this copy is only a copy of the document you signed, and does not ensure processing and filing at the State Office of Vital Records. Once the Paternity Acknowledgment is filed with the State Office of Vitals Records, copies of this document are no longer available unless by court order.

Question:

How does the Department of Family and Children Services obtain a copy of the signed Paternity Acknowledgment form for the purpose of placing a minor child with the father?

Answer:

The following can request copies of the PA form from State Vital Records:

- a. Any person who signed it;
- b. The guardian or temporary representative of any person who signed
- c. The child, if her or she is at least 18 years old;
- d. The guardian, temporary guardian, or legal custodian of the child;
- e. The child's living legal spouse, next of kin, legal representative, or someone who has applied in good faith to become the child's legal representative:
- f. A government agency who needs it for official purposes;
- g. In response to a court order or subpoena:
- h. An attorney licensed in Georgia who needs it for purposes of legal investigation on behalf of a client; and
- i. A licensed child placement agency that needs it for official purposes.

Question:

When my baby is born, the father will be in jail, but he wants to sign the Paternity Acknowledgment form. How can we get this done?

Answer:

Some birthing hospitals will assist in this process if the father is in a nearby, local jail. If the hospital does not assist in this process, you may obtain a Paternity Acknowledgment form from a local Vital Records Office, a Probate Court Office, or the State Office of Vital Records. You may then take the form to the jail where both you and the father should sign the form.

**Remember:** A Notary Public must witness both the mother and father's signatures if the form is completed anywhere other than a hospital or Vital Records Office/Probate Court.

Another option is for you and the father to go to the State Office of Vital Records in Atlanta or the Vital Records Office or Probate Court in the county of the child's birth after he is released from jail.

Question:

Does the Paternity Acknowledgment Form have to be notarized?

Answer:

Yes.

Question:

What documents are the father and mother required to produce in order to

sign a Paternity Acknowledgment Form?

Answer:

A valid picture identification such as a driver's license, state ID from any

state, school, work, military, or foreign identification.

Question:

Is there a time frame in which to complete a Paternity Acknowledgment Form?

Revised September 22, 2016

**Answer:** Unwed parents can complete the PA form (to establish paternity) at any

time and send to the State Office of Vital Records for filing. The "child" can

be an adult of any age.

**Question:** What is the cost for filing the Paternity Acknowledgment Form?

**Answer:** There is no cost if the form is completed at the hospital at the time of the

child's birth or if the form is completed and submitted to the State Office of Vital Records by the child's first birthday. After the child's first birthday, the

fee is \$10.00.

#### RESCINDING THE PATERNITY ACKNOWLEDGMENT FORM

**Question:** What is a Rescission Form?

**Answer:** Both the mother and father have 60 days from the date they signed the

Paternity Acknowledgment Form to change their mind about

administratively establishing paternity for their child. Either the mother or father may submit a completed Rescission Form to the State Office of

Vital Records to cancel the Paternity Acknowledgment.

**Question:** Where can I get a rescission form?

Answer: From the <u>State Office of Vital Records</u>, <u>local Vital Records Office</u>, (click

the links) and Probate Court Offices.

**Question:** What happens when I submit a Rescission Form within 60 days of signing

the Paternity Acknowledgment?

**Answer:** The Paternity Acknowledgment is voided; and the father's name is

removed from the Putative Father Registry.

#### **FATHER'S RIGHTS**

**Question:** What rights does a father have if he signs a Voluntary Paternity

Acknowledgment Form?

**Answer:** The only right that results from signing a Paternity Acknowledgment Form

is the father's right to be notified of a pending adoption.

## CHILD SUPPORT, CUSTODY AND VISITATION ISSUES

Question: If paternity tests show that I cannot be excluded as the child's father, do I

automatically have visitation rights and have the same custody rights as

the mother?

**Answer:** No. Georgia law requires that a child be legitimated by the father before

the father can request custody and visitation rights through the court

system.

**Question:** Who has custody of the child after both parents sign the Paternity

Acknowledgment form?

**Answer:** O.C.G.A. §19-7-22(g)(1): " ... Custody of the child shall remain in the

mother unless or until a court order is entered addressing the issue of

custody. ..."

O.C.G.A. §19-7-25: Only the mother of a child born out of wedlock is entitled to his custody, unless the father legitimates him as provided in Code Section 19-7-22. Otherwise, the mother may exercise all parental

power over the child.

**Question:** The dad signed the Paternity Acknowledgment form and now wants

custody of the child. What should he do to obtain legal custody of the

child?

**Answer:** His next action would be to file a petition with a Superior Court to obtain

legal custody of the child and seek legal guidance.

#### NAMING THE CHILD

**Question:** Can the mother identify her child's surname (last name) as anything she

wants on the birth certificate if she is divorced, separated, or her marriage

was annulled?

**Answer:** Yes.

Question: If a mother is single and has never been married, can she name the child

any last name she wants?

**Answer:** No. The only time the law mandates the surname is when the mother is

unwed. In this situation, the child's last name must be the same as the

mother's legal name [O.C.G.A. §31-10-9(e)(5)].

Question: If both parents sign the Paternity Acknowledgment form, can the child

have the father's last name on the birth certificate?

**Answer:** Yes. The Paternity Acknowledgment form has a place for the child's

name. The child's name can be whatever both parents agree to. If the Paternity Acknowledgment form is completed after the birth certificate information is sent to Vital Records by the birthing hospital, the State Office of Vital Records will update the child's birth certificate with the name

Office of vital Necords will appeare the child's birth certificate with the he

specified on the Paternity Acknowledgment form.

Question: If a mother or father signs a Rescission Form within 60 days after signing

the Paternity Acknowledgment (PA) form, will this change the child's last

name on the birth certificate?

**Answer:** No. A certified copy of court order must be obtained and presented to the

State Office of Vital Records. The court order must specifically state what

the child's name is being changed from and the child's new name

(O.C.G.A. §31-10-23(d).

**Question:** Who has the final word on naming the child?

**Answer:** If the parents are not married to each other, and a Paternity

Acknowledgment form is completed, both parents must agree to the child's name listed on the form. If the parents cannot agree on the child's name, then a Paternity Acknowledgment form cannot be completed. In this situation, the mother will name the child (please refer to previous

questions/answers in this section).

#### **BIRTH CERTIFICATES**

**Question:** Where can I get a copy of my child's birth certificate?

**Answer:** In person from the <u>State Office of Vital Records</u>, a <u>local Vital Records</u>

Office, or Probate Court in the county of the child's birth. You can order birth certificates online at http://dph.georgia.gov/birth-records (click the

link).

**Question:** How can I get the father's name on my child's birth certificate?

**Answer:** If there is no father listed on the child's birth certificate, you and the father

may complete a Paternity Acknowledgment (PA) Form and submit to the State Office of Vital Records. The father's name will be added to the

child's birth certificate when the PA form is processed.

If your child's birth certificate has a father listed, or if that field has any information (such as refused, unknown, etc.), you must provide a certified copy of a court order to the State Office of Vital Records in order to add a father's name. The court order must specifically state the name to be

removed and the name to be added.

**Question:** How can I get the father's name OFF my child's birth certificate?

**Answer:** A certified copy of a court order must be submitted to the State Office of

Vital Records. The court order must specify both the name to be removed

and the name to be added to the birth certificate